À la carte: #5days5guys1item

3 Mar

Ride Along (1) Photographed by: Theodolph Mason

Out with the fat and in with the new! At least I think that’s how the saying goes…

Anyways, adding something new to the “À la carte” section or better know as my #OOTD I want to included other fashionable young men to get their take and spin on how they rock their new or favorite purchases.

There’s this misconception that in order to love fashion, exude style or have “taste” one must don a completely different garment everyday and it must be designer, expensive or over the top. Just like a fatty lying about eating healthy is expensive when they eat out EVERYDAY, all of that is a delusional obese lie.

Style or having taste is the ability to consistently create a distinctive recognizable personal look out of anything you purchase. Taste is all about your character, as cliche as it may be, your personal style should do the talking before you even speak. I believe as long as its fits perfectly, quality, a great color for my complexion and appropriate for where I’m are wearing it to then I nothing short of style perfection.

Your waistline may go up and down but style is forever. That’s why I enlisted the help of five gentlemen (including myself) whom I found stylish, handsome and of course taunt to pick one of their favorite items from their closet that they are excited to wear for five days to restyle and rock throughout the week.

The Style Challenge: #5days5guys1item

To help prove my theory of style I asked the guys to each pick from five categories (outerwear, shirt, pants, shoes and accessory) to create their daily looks around.

The Guys:
Oliver Williams (@bougiehippie) Shoes.
Antonio Guerrero (@thestylewarrior_) Shirt.
Kedrick Walker (@rockedfeller) Accessory.
Roberto Johnson (@itsrobertojohnson) Outerwear.
Askia B (@askiaabdull) Pants.

Each day we all will be posting our looks on Instagram using the hash-tag #5days5guys1item I will be posting full round-ups here!

Check us out, double tap and comment! Here’s my look for DAY ONE. My category is shoes and I chose these Zara platform pony hair & leather oxfords I bought during the holidays. They are a modern throwback to the 50’s that I feel I can pair with joggers to slacks to give my simple looks a bit of personality and class.

Ride Along (2)

Ride Along (9)

Ride Along (4)

Ride Along (3)

Ride Along (10)

Ride Along (5)

Ride Along (7)

Ride Along (8)
Faux Leather Coat: Zara $259
Sweater: Liz Claiborne $15
Oxford: Hollister Co. $29
Denim: Levi’s 511 JC Penny $41.54 (distressed by myself)
Shoes: Zara $129

Leave a Reply

