Taste Coach: Adonis Wooten-Herron

28 May

Cultivating your specific level of “taste” takes taste-testing, which means subjecting yourself to all different types and levels of desirable offerings. Your standard or grade of taste shouldn’t only come from one medium. There are so much thinpso around us daily as well as, other stylish cultured men who are masters or coaches (in their own right) willing to share their experiences, desires and most savored secrets with us to help build upon our own appreciation.

Many of us are stimulated through our eyes, and though for me writing is not only a huge stress reviler but also, very inspiring sometimes I don’t have the time or interests to read my own writing more over anyone else’s not matter how profound or thinpsiring it may me.

That’s why the world of vlogging (video blogging) has been a skinny God send. It’s saves & kills time, entertains and educates, all the while giving me all the fuel I need to build upon being the best me possible. Vlogging is great at helping informing you about new brands, artists or current events or just giving you that mental pick-me-up that you may need to make it through the day.

One of my new favorite style/lifestyle YouTube channel is one by a guy whom I swear is my doppelganger! He’s gorgeous, slim, lives in Kansas, stylish and a vegetarian like myself that love’s menswear. Can we be more identical besides being actually identical?

In this edition of Taste Coach Series: Adonis Wooten-Herron I finally was able to interview Adonis about his idea of taste and everything about his channel. Check out his offerings.

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset
My name is Adonis Wooten-Herron, 21 years old from Kansas. I am currently a senior in college majoring in Marketing with an apparel & textiles minor. Fashion, lifestyle, and just…talking & reaching people has always been passions of mine. I finally stepped out on faith and began my journey on YouTube with my channel AbsolutelyAdonis (corresponding with my Tumblr: Absolutely Adonis) which have been such a significant part of my life within the last year. The name simply describes me: I am and always will be myself and I’m absolutely okay with that and absolutely accepting of that. My overall goal from YouTube is not to become “famous” or be a “celebrity” but to simply give myself a creative outlet and to give people who look like me (and who don’t) a chance to be adequately represented in a space that’s dominated by women and Caucasians. I’m here to share fashion tips, life tips, advice, pretty much everything I can offer I’m here to share with you. Hopefully people feel at home and can take this amazing journey with me and my channel!

How did you get into Vlogging (video blogging)?
AA- I was watching Raven Elyse & Paul Zedrich on YouTube and would always say “I can do this…I can build a channel just like they did..” So, I randomly bought a camera and never looked back. I wanted to see someone who looked like me on YouTube…it’s rare: a black male giving fashion tips and lifestyle advice. I wanted to create/fulfill a lane that wasn’t being utilized.

What would you say your specialty or what you’re most enthused on talking about?
AA- Of all the things I talk about on my channel I get the most excited about my Chatty Vlogs. I talk about everything from identity, race, being yourself, and life in general. I think I prefer those over my fashion and lifestyle videos because they allow me to be real, raw, honest, and allow me to show my passions outside of the stereotypical YouTube “fashion vlogger” framework.


What should readers come to Absolutely Adonis looking to view?
AA- Expect to see a little of everything: Lookbooks, Chatty Vlogs, Health Videos (I’m a vegetarian), College Tips, Money Management, Skin Care Videos, Hauls, Daily Vlogs… you name it. I really pride myself on being a diverse channel, and providing content for everyone to watch. So, If you’re not into fashion then I have health and lifestyle videos…if you’re more into daily vloggers I offer that too. I’m a one stop shop.

What topics do you enjoying recording about the most menswear, grooming or life rants and why?
AA- As far as recording goes I love recording everything. I’m just simply excited to be in front of the camera, it’s freeing and so comfortable for me. Every video I film is enjoyable for me because I honestly am excited to sit down, take a break from my everyday busy life & work and just talk to whoever plans to watch/listen.

What factors most influences your style?
AA- I look a trends and see what’s popular and try to add my own spin to it. Being trendy isn’t a bad thing…it really shows your passion for fashion and the industry. You should always take something so broad and make it your own.

I see that you love doing haul videos, what gets you ampted to spend all your money, lol?
AA- Hahaha! I come from a family that is so good with their money. They save a ton, but they never deny themselves things that make them happy or that will benefit them. I save majority of my money but I love rewarding myself and making myself a priority. If you want to feel good you have to look good, right?

What set your videos apart from other style video bloggers?
AA- I can only speak for myself and my channel but I think I really focus on offering a wide variety of topics and ideas and a consistent uploading schedule. Over the past year I put out 3 videos a week, so I try and focus on consistency, progress, and quality. Also, I’m a black guy pushing his way through a female saturated and majority Caucasian dominated market. I just do this for the fun, the joy, and as a hobby I’m not being fake about it. When you do YouTube just to be “famous” it shows in your videos, and I never want that to happen.

Who is your style inspiration?
AA- Honestly, random photos on Tumblr inspire me the most…it’s weird to say but Tumblr.


Three words to describe your style.
AA- Minimal, Urban-esque, Clean cut.

How do you pick your topics to cover/shoot?
AA- I’ll ask people around me for some ideas lol or look around YouTube to see if I can find something. A lot of the time ideas just pop in my head and I go from there!

How long does it take to tape and edit a video before posting?
AA- It will usually take me about 15-30 minutes to film and 1-2 hours to edit…then 30 or so minutes to re-edit and skim over it…then I post it!

What does “taste” mean to you?
AA- To me taste just refers to your interest and your personal style.

Most savored video you’ve posted?
AA- Omg! There are so many I can’t choose lol.

Most distasteful topics you’ve taped or deleted?
AA- My very first video, God…I wish I could delete it, but there’s just no point…it was wretched!

Favorite place to shop?
AA- ASOS!

Four things you’ve purchased to get you through summer?
AA- Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser. Birkenstocks. Vlog Camera. Asos Short Shorts!

Fashion faux pas you hate that guys do?
AA- Long Nike sock with cargo shorts.

Other YouTubers your follow or ‘thinspire’ you?
AA- Paul Zedrich
Raven Elyse
Aliulion
Nicole G.
Jair Woo
Drew Scott
Vicky Logan

Absolutely Adonis (2)
One thing every guy should come to your channel to learn?
AA- Come to my channel to learn by example how to be the best person you can be. Coming to my channel there’s so much to gain and be exposed to, fashion, skincare, health…all of that. Come to my channel just to have a good time.

What have you noticed negative in the video blogging world?
AA- I learned that everyone has a comment, and not every wants to see you grow. I also, learned that everyone wants to be on YouTube but everyone doesn’t have the passion or the right motives behind what their doing.

Who is your demographic?
AA- I try to keep my videos neutral in content but I think mainly it’s for guys: High school – Up. No specific race targeted. The funny thing about it though is there’s almost an equal amount of females and males subscribed to my channel lol. So, who knows who I’m making videos for anymore!

Positive responses you’ve received.
AA- I received love from Raven Elyse and Paul Zedrich and tons of others that just say that they watch and comment on my videos it just shows me that other bigger YouTubers are noticing my content. I think the best thing though, is the comments from my subscribers, they truly are an amazing support system.

Are you into menswear runway, if so most salivating worthy ss15 collection?
AA- Wang, Acne Studios (FAVE), Givenchy, & McQeen…my lord

Has it been difficult maintaining or building an audience?
AA- I wouldn’t say it’s been difficult, but it’s been a journey. Produce the content you want to produce and people will follow on their own timing.

Where do you want to take your channel?
AA- I want my channel to continue to help me grow as a person. As time progresses videos will get better and more people will subscribe but I think right now I’m just more focused on right now, and just taking it one video at a time!

What is the goal of your videos as a whole?
AA- I want people to laugh, smile, and think when they watch my videos. As long as someone leaves my videos with something they can apply to their lives then, I’m good.


Skincare routine or treatment you can’t go a week without partaking in?
AA- My Daily Skin Care Routine (Summer) video lays it all out in detail!

Grooming habit you refused to break?
AA- MANSCAPING. *drops mic*

-Thanks Adonis for being apart of the series and letting my readers know a bit more about you!

Leave a Reply

