Delight Du Jour: Robert Geller SS16 #NYFWM

27 Jul

Robert Geller ss16

My first show of New York Fashion Week:Men Spring/Summer 2016 was none other than my ultimate absolute favorite Robert Geller.

As you go through my reviews of menswear shows, I can sometimes use the word ‘favorite’ a bit loosely but its all in context. However, what is consistent is my affection for my top favorite overseas designers- Dean & Dan Caten of Dsquared2 for their personal style, business sense and sexy shows.

Rerouting back to America I have a top five of utterly un-f*@K-with-able menswear designers I will gladly never even mention food again and pay rent to the gym, yoga studio and boxing gym to merely sit down to lunch with, (backwards I know)…

5. Richard Chai
4. Tim Coppens
3. Dao-Yi Chow & Maxwell Osborne of Public School
2. Daniel Sliver & Steven Cox of Duckie Brown

Number ONE being Robert Geller!

I have been a fan since landing upon his fall 2007 collection in my dorm during a procrastinating study session. Since then I’ve been watching and salivating over the genius, creative and quirky design offerings each season there after.

I feel as though I’m a true fan, I call him out when he’s being redundant, his one note casting and sometimes season questionable fabrics. Also, I lift him up to Skinny-Jesus in praise when he satisfy all my clothing cravings. So image my response when I received an invite to attended his show two week ago.

You would have thought Jennifer Lopez called me or I lost 32.8lbs (my current goal weight) in one nap the way I screamed and ran all around my apartment. Cut to the day of the show; I woke up at 6:30 a.m. to get a run in to be at peak tautness, popped a fat burner and went hysteric when I took the wrong train to get to 550 Washington ave. I literally sprinted to get to the show on time, sweaty or refreshed as some said and bypassing prime street style photo-ops. Thank goodness everyone in fashion is fashionably late, even the designer, of course the show started about 20 minutes late.

As I elbowed/bag nudged for my place, cooled off and got my camera ready as the light dimmed I couldn’t believe I was really there. It was all worth it!

The collection was refreshed from previous shows, all the while keeping key elements that we’ve come to love and associate with Geller’s aesthetic. It was an interesting fuse of “stranded on a desert Island that happens to be the Riviera” having a luxe-deconstructed-utilitarian vibe to the overall collection. A far departure from the seeming dark and smoldering past shows. He played with more colors other than black, grey and wine. Manipulated new fabrics as oppose to neoprene such as; the recycled crumpled paper-esque bags, shorts and shirts. There were some pleasant accouterments; i.e. the legwarmers or toe-less socks paired with sandals, the trademark hats and charming ethnic necklaces.

As sleek bohemian the collection was there were a few Dries Van Noten and Balmain influences but nevertheless dashingly eccentric, relax and cool. Believe it or not my delight du jour was the hair and makeup. I’m very much all about a slightly sun kissed dewy glow and wet on-the-go but coif hair.

Let me not mention how I was almost jumped out of my skin when I seen Adonis Basso walking the show in two looks! The collection was the perfect collection the view as my first time having a seat at the show over waiting for uploads at home. The collection have great standout/alone pieces and full looks that could be worn straight off the runway.

My new life goal is to become a brand ambassador for the brand. Just imaging me a half a person lighter gallivanting around next season’s fashion week in Geller’s fashion!

Robert-Geller-SS16 (15)

Robert-Geller-SS16 (2)

Robert-Geller-SS16 (2)

Robert-Geller-SS16 (3)

Robert-Geller-SS16 (3)

Robert-Geller-SS16 (4)

Robert-Geller-SS16 (4)

Robert-Geller-SS16 (5)

Robert-Geller-SS16 (5)

Robert-Geller-SS16 (6)

Robert-Geller-SS16 (6)

Robert-Geller-SS16 (7)

Robert-Geller-SS16 (7)

Robert-Geller-SS16 (8)

Robert-Geller-SS16 (8)

Robert-Geller-SS16 (9)

Robert-Geller-SS16 (10)

Robert-Geller-SS16 (10)

Robert-Geller-SS16 (11)

Robert-Geller-SS16 (12)

Robert-Geller-SS16 (13)

Robert-Geller-SS16 (16)

Robert-Geller-SS16 (14)

Robert-Geller-SS16 (1)

Robert-Geller-SS16 (9)

Even the soundtrack was rockin’

One Response to “Delight Du Jour: Robert Geller SS16 #NYFWM”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Grubbing & Detoxing: My Review of #NYFWM | Anorexic Escapades - July 29, 2015

    […] As you read in my Robert Geller post it was my first show as I missed the first day of social events & presentations as I was […]

Leave a Reply

