“Junk Food Journals:” Entry 17

26 Aug

The only bad workout, is the one you don’t do! If its thinpsiration you need, then check out what the fellas of “Junk Food Journals: Entry 17” had to share that keeps them motivated to eat healthy and workout consistently.

It very thinspiring you people with amazing bodies deal the many struggles as us who are aspiring to be a lean and ripped. What they all have in common is… Commit, Do, Rest and Repeat.

Alan John (1)

Alan John (3)
I am Alan John (Instagram: @iamalanjohn), a 26 year old model with Glamasphere Model Management and recently started presenting a tv show called Raptor Farm on Mindset tv channel 319 on DStv which airs every Friday at 7pm. I’m based in Johannesburg, South Africa and I began training with a home gym set when I was still in High School. I’m also an actor and in the process of recording my debut album. You can email me for booking or inquiries on alanjohnworldwide@gmail.com.

Workout Philosophy: Learn/know your body type and how it reacts to food and weight training. Next, follow a workout program that is designed to get YOUR body to where you want it to. Then, like everything else, be consistent with what you eat and with following the workout schedule.

Breakfast: Oats (I add peanut butter for a protein boost) or 3 boiled eggs and 2 tuna sandwiches.

Lunch: Brown rice and grilled fish fillets.

Dinner: Mashed potato, chicken breasts and choice of greens.

Cheat Day: Fortunately I don’t have a sweet tooth, a cheat meal would be some fried chicken.

Diet Trick: Healthy eating has to be a way of life for it to make sense and to be sustainable. Stay hydrated at all times and when grocery shopping choose the healthy option so you have no option but to cook healthy meals at home.

Problem Area: Time Management – Life is hectic, this is one area where sometimes I drag myself to the gym no matter how tired I am.

Key To Discipline: For me its the end goal; I know what I want to look like and to remain looking that way so, I constantly remind myself and work extremely hard to make this a reality.

Workout Routine: A 5 day gym program in this order: Back, chest, legs, arms, rest day, shoulders and rest day.

Kofi Mensah (1)

Kofi Mensah (2)
I’m Kofi Mensah (Instagram: @Noriwayfarer) a wanderlust boy that loves new experiences and pushing new boundaries. I’m a Pescatarian, working towards becoming a full time vegetarian and eventual vegan. I live in NYC, but my soul is forever in the clouds searching for new destinations.

Workout Philosophy: I believe that you should work towards what you aspire to look like and what makes you happy. Not for anyone else, or you will eventually lose the motivation to work out. Rotate your exercises and don’t only depend on the gym or else working out will become a bit of a chore and mundane.

Breakfast: It varies between yogurt, granola, egg whites with spinach and some other vegetables. Always tea, with honey.

Lunch: I try to make this my biggest meal of the day. It depends on whatever I’ve made for lunch. Usually some tofu, or seafood dish with brown rice. Occasionally pasta.

Dinner: A salad; with some feta or blue cheese, pecans or walnuts, croutons, dried cranberries and other toppings. I’ll usually accompany it with a tall glass of red or white wine and water.

Cheat Day: I suppose I don’t really believe in a cheat day. Unless you’re competing for some body competition or in my case gearing up for a photo shoot, there’s no need to hold off eating something you really want. Just don’t go super crazy and stuff yourself and you’ll be fine. But if I did have a cheat day it would involve Talenti ice cream! I just recently have it of the first time and it’s easily my new favorite gelato!

Diet Trick: Stay hydrated, eat fruits and avoid too much processed foods.

Problem Area: My lower stomach and pectorals. They are the hardest for me to tone up.

Key to Discipline: Having some sort of routine. Knowing when you are going to the gym or when you’re going for a run, swim, etc helps you stay focused and reach your fitness goals.

Workout Routine: I love early morning workouts, especially at the gym when it’s empty. Anytime between 5am-7am is preferred. I rotate different sections of the body on a daily basis from lower abs, chest, arms, etc to ensure that I’m not over working a certain area, but at the same time giving proper time and attention to develop specific muscles. Hiking, tennis, running and swimming (not the best swimmer) but changing up your activities so working out doesn’t feel like a workout!

Mike Mathews (1)

Mike Mathews (2)
I’m Mike Junior (Instagram: @mikevslilmike), a personal trainer and fitness enthusiast in Detroit.

Workout Philosophy: Train like a superhero. As if the moment you walk out of the gym you’re going to be asked to save the world. (It’s the geek in me, lol.)

Breakfast: 6 egg white omelet, smoked salmon, sweet potato hash.

Lunch: 2 chicken breast, 3 hard-boiled egg whites, kale salad, side of fruit and a protein smoothie.

Dinner: large salmon fillet, asparagus and baked sweet potato.

Cheat Day: My favorite cheat day spot is a buffet style soul-food brunch in Detroit; Motor City Kitchen.

Diet Trick: Regular Detoxing. I do a major cleanse twice a year along with a daily detox tea. The cleaner your system the better it can process and absorb nutrients. It also keeps me mindful about what I’m putting into my body.

Problem Area: Legs. I have to work them twice a week to see growth.

Key to Discipline: Setting goals with deadlines attached to them. Whether it be getting ripped for a photo shoot, getting pumped up for an event, or most recently, prepping for my first physique competition, setting goals for how my body needs to look on a certain date helps keep my discipline strong.

Workout Routine: One of my favorite routines is working chest on the cable machine, I’m able to hit it at every angle and get a really good pump. My full chest workout is available at MikeJunior.co

2 Responses to ““Junk Food Journals:” Entry 17”

  1. Tyric August 27, 2015 at 4:36 pm #

    I am honestly tired of seeing all of these healthy men with nice bodies, and I am sitting behind my work desk lazy lol. I have to get it together. As always, great post!

    -Ty
    http://www.toastandgrits.com

Leave a Reply

