Lockeroom Habits.

18 Sep

Olay Pro X (1)

First off I want a huge thank you from every single one of my male readers. I have become your almost skinny human grooming Guinea pig. Not to say I don’t like testing and reviewing new products to share with my readers, however my medicine cabinet is now worth more than my closet.

Anyways, during one of my usual Target trip to pick up water and nuts I somehow wondered to the cosmetic aisle… 192.87 dollars later I made it home with this Olay ProX Microdermabrasion Plus Advanced Cleansing System for $44.99.

Believe it or not I have never tried any at home microdermabrasion cleansing systems. Honestly I thought it was just something else extra to waste money on because I feel I can get a better, deeper, thorough, clean with my hands for cheaper.

Although, I now see what the hype is all about with these cleaning systems- they are perfect for the lazy! After a week trying this ProX Microdermabrasion Plus Advanced Cleansing System I can say I don’t see a huge difference but it is refreshing to wash my face with something new.

The Olay ProX system includes a 3 Speed Facial Cleansing System, Microdermabrasion Foam Head, Cleansing Brush Head, Thermal Crystal Polisher (0.68 fl. oz.), Exfoliating Renewal Cleanser (0.68 fl. oz.) and 2 AA Duracell Batteries. Also a diagram of brush weekly usage rotations between cleansing and microdermabrasion.

My Overall Result: Convenience! I like that I was able to just sit in my bathroom on the toilet watching YouTube and let the brush do all the work without getting the sink wet or mirror dirty. Microdermabrasion is known to scrub off the dead and dull surface layers of the skin, stimulating and increase collagen production. So of course I was looking for dramatic improvements in the tone, texture, and color of treated areas. I must admit my face was just as clean, tight and even as my normal hand & product regime. Instead of dampen skin I lathered my face in coconut oil to offset scratching from the beads. Applied the Exfoliating Renewal Cleanser to face then, gently massage on my face for 60 seconds on the top speed. Due to the Thermal Crystal Polisher being rather gentle than scrub, I used it daily.

If you’re looking to add something new to your skincare routine go ahead and get it but I suggest spending 50 bucks at Sephora and get more!

Here’s What Exactly Microdermabrasion Improves:

  • Oily or dull skin
  • Enlarged pores
  • Clogged pores
  • Fine lines
  • Mild acne scars
  • Mild complexion problems (such as uneven pigmentation or poor skin texture)
  • The benefits of microdermabrasion also include enhanced circulation and lymph flow, which promote the internal health of the skin.

Why should men care about microdermabrasion? We shave regularly-  irritations and ingrown hairs are clear signs of an added stress to their skin. The skin damage is caused by the shaving itself, as well as by before and after shaving products. Therefore it’s ideal to keep the skin healthy before and after a scalping.

You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

